Uncle Max's Musings on Politics and Culture

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Healthcare: The House Vote – The No Dems and The Yes Republican November 15, 2009

Filed under: Healthcare Reform — Larry E. Stuckey II @ 9:15 pm

As I am sure many are aware by now, healthcare reform passed the House of Representatives.  One of the big pieces of political news with this passage was that 39 Democrats did not support the bill.  Here is an interesting fact about these Democrats – 31 of 39 are in districts where John McCain won in 2009.  See further analysis at the NY Times.

Now – let’s talk about this one Republican.  While it took me awhile to come to terms with the cost of this bill, I have ultimately been moved by the moral cause for healthcare reform.  See this listing of individual stories for where the current system is just failing.  Anyway, the lone Republican YES vote, I believe said it best:

“I read the versions of the House [health reform] bill.  I listened to the countless stories of Orleans and Jefferson Parish citizens whose health care costs are exploding – if they are able to obtain health care at all.  Louisianans needs real options for primary care, for mental health care, and for expanded health care for seniors and children.  I have always said that I would put aside partisan wrangling to do the business of the people.  My vote tonight was based on my priority of doing what is best for my constituents.”    

 

Leave a Reply

